Monday, July 28, 2025
HomeBoard Gamemagic the gathering - How does a card's "Impending" means work whereas...

magic the gathering – How does a card’s “Impending” means work whereas there are nonetheless time counters on it?


A creature solid with the upcoming price with time counters on it’s only a common enchantment everlasting.

A spell can’t be on the stack for a number of turns

In Magic: the Gathering, every flip is split right into a sequence of steps, and every step can solely finish if the stack is empty. Which means any spell should go away the stack, both by resolving or by being countered, in the identical step through which it’s solid. So, no spell can ever be on the stack in a flip after the one through which it was solid, and you can’t ever counter a spell that was solid in a earlier flip.


“Not a creature” doesn’t imply “not a everlasting”

The approaching means says that if you happen to pay the upcoming price, the article is “not a creature” so long as it has a time counter on it. “Creature” is only a card kind, like “artifact” or “enchantment”. If an impact says that one thing is “not a creature”, that simply implies that it does not have the creature kind, or any related subtypes, or energy and toughness. Nothing else about it modifications; if it might in any other case be a everlasting, it is nonetheless a everlasting, only one that is not a creature.


Impending

The power is outlined in rule 702.126a:

702.176a. Impending is a key phrase that represents 4 skills. The primary and second are static skills that operate whereas the spell with impending is on the stack. The third is a static means that capabilities on the battlefield. The fourth is a triggered means that capabilities on the battlefield. “Impending N–[cost]” means “You could select to pay [cost] slightly than pay this spell’s mana price,” “In the event you selected to pay this spell’s impending price, it enters with N time counters on it,” “So long as this everlasting’s impending price was paid and it has a time counter on it, it is not a creature,” and “At first of your finish step, if this everlasting’s impending price was paid and it has a time counter on it, take away a time counter from it.” Casting a spell for its impending price follows the foundations for paying different prices in guidelines 601.2b and 601.2f-h.

The entire current playing cards with the Impending means are Enchantment Creature playing cards, so if certainly one of them is solid by paying its impending price, it resolves similar to some other everlasting spell, besides that so long as it has a time counter on it, it’s simply an Enchantment. It may be interacted with similar to some other Enchantment. A counterspell targets spells on the stack, and this can be a everlasting on the battlefield, so they don’t work together. Terror targets creatures, and this isn’t a creature, so they don’t work together. Naturalize, for instance, targets enchantments, so it may work together with certainly one of these permanents.

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments